PicturePoems

By PicturePoems

The bits I can't reach

Today was the day our next door neighbour's hedges were receiving their annual hack. I didn't know that until I heard the doorbell, soon after I'd come in exhausted after 100 minutes of hedge-cutting with very little to show for it. Would I like the caller to use his massive machine to take the top off our high hedges side and front (in the front garden)? I did remember to ask 'how much?' before biting his hand off. It was one of those huge choppers that do roadside hedge management, so a bit messy, but effective. 

Since then I've been out again twice, working on neatening the appearance. There's still a lot of work to do, but it's now within the realms of possibility and, the main thing: within reach! When my mother used to knit jumpers for me, she reckoned I had long arms - but they're not long enough when it comes to hedge management. So that was the good thing for today. 

The bad thing is the washing machine has stopped spinning. I've checked one filter, but there is other advice in the manual, which will have to wait until Mr PP's return. I can't move the machine out on my own, and I'd need to do so to unplug it. It will wait till he comes home.

I believe we're due to have another lovely warm, sunny day tomorrow, so hope to make it a more restful one after all my labours today. 

Thank you to all who left such lovely comments on my yesterblip. Very much appreciated. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.