SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Winning

Today was my last volunteering session at the UCI World Championships. I'd never heard of "Flatland" before, and it consists of very impressive trick riding of  a BMX bike on a flat area.  It's not as big an event as the BMX Park, and has less need for volunteers, so we could spend half our time watching the action whilst standing beside the riders before and after they had completed. Not only were teammates supporting each other, but there was a lot of camaraderie between riders of different nations. The outstanding (professional BMX) commentator was also nearby, and all this made for a great atmosphere. 

Once I'd finished, I made my way to the velodrome for another night of fine, exciting action. After the last race, I went to watch the first couple of medal ceremonies. I'm not one for anthems, but it was great to see the presentations at first hand. Together with the other medallists, here's Emma Finucane after receiving her gold medal and rainbow jersey, The biggest smile, though, was from the Colombian who won the keirin (see extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.