Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

READY, STEADY, GO...

...well almost!

I was told I needed to go for another blood test today - so another armful to be taken - at anytime between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., so we got to the hospital at 9.01 expecting to be the first ones there, but apparently, there were four people in front of me.  We waited and waited until at 10 o’clock, I asked the lady on reception whether I was going to be seen soon.  She checked and said I was next on the list.

A lovely nurse came and called out my name and then remarked that with trainers that colour, I could run a marathon - I told her perhaps after Monday that might be on the cards!

She asked which arm would be best for her to take the blood and I told her that the left one seemed to be better, so that’s the one it was - she was straight in and got what she wanted and I was on my way out in no time.  

I asked if I could take a couple of photographs, and of course, told her about Blip - as you/I do often and she was quite happy for me to take them.  She asked if I was worried about the surgery, so I told her that I was a Christian and that lots of friends were praying for me, so I wasn’t really that worried - but perhaps a little apprehensive.  

Hopefully the next time you see me in my pink trainers, I won’t have the grey legs with me and who knows, I could be running that marathon yet!

I love this version in The Message of verses in Isaiah:

“God doesn’t come and go. God lasts. 
     He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine. 
He doesn’t get tired out, 
     doesn’t pause to catch his breath. 
And he knows everything, inside and out. 
     He energizes those who get tired, 
          gives fresh strength to dropouts.
For even young people tire and drop out, 
     young folk in their prime stumble and fall. 
But those who wait upon God get fresh strength. 
     They spread their wings and soar like eagles, 
          they run and don’t get tired, 
               they walk and don’t lag behind.”
Isaiah 40 : 28-31 The Message

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.