WISE WEDNESDAY - WITH HELP FROM MY NEIGHBOUR

Mr. HCB went off to cricket at about 8.15 this morning, going to collect his cricket buddy, Keith, on the way.  I don’t mind that I have the day to myself - in fact, I am rather pleased - but will miss him!

I had quite a lot of admin work to do and have sorted out emails that have been languishing in my Inbox for sometime - in fact, I deleted most of them, but I still have some work to do.

However, I decided that after 2 hours of this, I needed a break, so went out to sweep underneath our carport for two reasons (1) it needed doing and (2) it was much cooler under there than in the garden, where, according to the thermometer it is already 29˚C and that’s in the shade!

Whilst sweeping, our lovely neighbour, Lynn, came out - our kitchen doors are opposite one another - on the way to collect her 97 year old Mum, so we had a chat about how hot it was already and how it was too hot to do anything much.  I said I needed to look for something to blip today so because Lynn knows about Blip, she asked what the subject was for today.  I said it was “Wide Wednesday”, but couldn’t think of anything at the moment.  

She suggested I change it to “Wise Wednesday” and then said that they had been quite perturbed to realise that the water they ran down the sink, before washing up, was at least half a bucketful.  They had decided to collect all this, because this happens at least twice a day and sometimes more, and then she will water her 36 tomato plants - she was very specific about the number, because she and Mr. HCB often chat about how she just throws seeds in they germinate whilst he takes the utmost care and sometimes, his don’t!  I told her that funnily enough, we had had the same conversation last night, which was why the orange bucket outside our kitchen door was now half full with clean water!

She suggested I make this my Blip - so here it is - Wise Wednesday, us and them collecting water and using it rather than using a hosepipe.  Mr. HCB was saying last night that a hosepipe ban would soon be brought in here, so we need to conserve as much as we can - we certainly don’t want to go back to having stand-pipes in the street, as we did in 1976!

I know that years ago, one of the slogans used to be "Save Water, Shower with a friend"  but I do draw the line at doing it outside my kitchen door!

So Blip sorted, now it’s back to sorting out my admin tasks, getting some lunch, doing my Wordle for the day and sorting out the songs for our Worship Group practice tonight.  I just hope that Mr. HCB is home in time for me to take the car - otherwise I will have to go on the bus, but at least by 7 o’clock it should be cooler.

“When the well is dry,
     we know the worth of water.”
Benjamin Franklin 1706-1790

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.