MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Bumbarrel Bundle

Had a lovely swim in the outdoor pool of the first Garden City in the world, Letchworth. Built in 1935, the pool is fifty metres long but feels much longer when one swims it. Very strange. :)

It adjoins Norton Common so we decided to explore. My friend heard the 'chip chip' of a woodpecker so I was forewarned and forearmed. I was delighted to have been able to capture a great spotted woodpecker for the first time in its natural habitat, deep in the penumbra of a wood.

I got a lovely chiff-chaff against the beautifully blue sky on a tree that perfectly co-ordinated with its colouring and I shot a gorgeous song thrush in an ash tree singing its heart out.

I have decided to post this family of long-tailed tits. I got some shots of, what I now know is, one of the adults looking completely worn-out and dishevelled. It was so tired it seemed to fall off the branch it was perching on. My pic shows two juveniles with their red-rimmed eyes looking fine and a poor wasted adult behind.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.