Everyday Life

By Julez

Fiskerton Fen

Blurb once I have had food!

I feel slightly more human now I have eaten! 

Today I fancied doing something different. So I booked to go to and see the Barbie movie - an early screening when it wouldn't be too busy! I even wore pink!

As I was going into the cinema my phone rang. It stopped before I could get it out of my bag to answer it but I had a voicemail from Mandy to say that they had found somewhere for my Dad and would be moving him later in the afternoon. There was a phone number to call the new place to find out what time he would go there. They did not answer their phone but I assumed it would be after the movie had finished once they had had lunch etc.

When I left the cinema I had more missed calls and voicemails - I called the new home again and they said that he would not be going to them now, and she did not know the reason why.

Of course I headed straight down there. All I could think was it served me right for thinking I could go and do something fun for once. I was in a bit of a state when I got there and had to sit in the office for a while to calm down!

And it was actually good news - He had been so upset at the prospect of having to leave that they made it possible for him to be able to stay  by turning a room that had been used as a kitchenette  into another bedroom. It had started life as a bedroom but had been used for people preparing to go back home to attempt simple kitchen tasks. They really went the extra mile for him! 

He is really pleased that he gets to stay, but he is still not well at all with the chest infection. It does not seem to be improving really. They are going to have the doctor in to visit him again tomorrow. I probably won't go tomorrow as he really needs to rest.

Back to the film - I really enjoyed it. I liked the reversal of fortunes storyline, and the inclusivity - there is even a transgender Barbie! There is lots of humour too! 

Brian called me as I walked home from town to see if I wanted to go to Fiskerton Fen to look for a Blip this evening. I did, of course. It was very peaceful and quiet there - just the thing after such a hectic day. Some young sheep were grazing on the riverbank. Some still had long tails - I had never seen a sheep with a long tail before, I'd just assumed they had short tails! They dock them of course!  There is an extra of a long tailed sheep! My main shot is self explanatory!

I feel a bit weird and headachey tonight, probably from the stress and the heat and forgetting to take my sunglasses out with me! I'm not complaining - it's great to have some summer at long last.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.