MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Sunny Day Subjects

I finally got a shot of an insect on the ageratum that has recently come into bloom on Frankie dog's grave. I think it's a thick-legged hoverfly. The ageratum isn't as popular with bugs as the other blooms from the Sea of Blue seed packet. A swarm of very tiny, very flighty wasps (I think) were loving the forget-me-not like plant which I couldn't identify. Thanks to Chamaeleo for suggesting it's a false alkanet. I haven't been able to identify the insects.

Lovely to see a brown argus flitting about in the beautiful sunshine. Lots of orange and yellow Jersey tigers on the wing too.

PS Chamaeleo has kindly identified the insect on the false alkanet as one of the furrow bees for me. It's not a wasp as I thought. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.