Blooming Heron!

Jack heron was in his usual position by the water's edge this morning but another heron was perched at the top of the gum tree on the island in the lake. It has slightly hooded eyes and a bit of a double chin. I'm wondering if they're waiting for the water level to go down even more which will make fishing very easy. :(

I hadn't planned to post a heron, having featured Jack recently but then I heard at lunchtime that sadly Raymond Briggs has died. I got Father Christmas out of the bookcase and re-read it. My children absolutely love it. The character puts me in mind a bit of my father. When I re-read Father Christmas Goes On Holiday, I was reminded that he'd spotted a heron in wet and cold Scotland. What an amazing illustrator and story teller Briggs was.      

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.