Adam's Images

By ajt

What is it?

This morning after breakfast I took the dogs for a walk. My mother-in-law has miniature poodle and my sister-in-law has a Bouvier des Flandres. The main picture is the Bouvier and they are both visible in an extra - along with some sunlight coming through the trees.


My sister-in-law and here partner live outside Vannes, and it's less than 5 minutes from their front door to the woods. I've been in the woods with the Bouvier last year, so I knew approximately where to go, and assumed he knew what he was doing!


There is a order of magnitude difference in weight between the dogs, 5 to 50 kilos, and while the poodle is a little scared of his heavier relative, they get on quite well.


Their hunting and walking style is very different. The Poodle uses his nose to smell for things and can even run at full-tilt with his nose to the ground if he is following a smell. The Bouvier is much more a visual dog and looks (and listens) for things. It was slightly wet underfoot and the tall grass meant the Poodle had to bunny hop a little whereas the Bouvier just rolls on through the grass.


They both loved being free in the woods, and were well behaved off the lead and tended to stick together and were happy to walk ahead and then stop at junctions in the paths to check in with me to where we were going. Without landmarks I just used my phone to navigate and we just wandered about where looked interesting until we were about half way on time, and then meandered back to the house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.