Arachne

By Arachne

Spot the gap

NZBro looked up nearby sheet metal workers and we went to visit one - a workshop I've never noticed down a turning off a route I once cycled to work and now cycle to band practice. They make big things and were a bit nonplussed when we walked into the yard asking about a small individual commission. They don't work on that scale but after NZBro and the workshop manager got talking, sharing sport banter and metalwork expertise, they were more than happy to bend a small piece of metal for me. They'll call me when it's ready.

So many people have left their mark on my house in one way or another (sanding wood, painting, making something bespoke, fitting the kitchen, wiring up the lights the wrong way round (and correcting them)) that I feel their presence when I'm in the house. NZBro will gaze down on me from the metal shelf filling the gap between the cupboards.

Secondborn joined us for our evening meal and the pic resulted from me commenting to her about all the young people addicted to their screens. I took an unpublishable one a couple of seconds later.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.