pensionspoet

By pensionspoet

A full day...

...as tourists!

The traffic outside our room was very noisy most of the night, and as it was so warm, we couldn't face closing the windows. We did have a fan which Mollie picked up from reception, but I wasn't keen to leave it running all night.

So I was awake at 6.30. We got up at about 8. Left the room at 9ish and walked to King's Cross to catch the tube to Oxford Circus. Then went to the closest McDonald's for breakfast. Bacon roll for me and Mollie had a bacon and cheese wrap. A nice cup of tea to start our day.

Shops all started to open at around 10am. We had a flexible plan for our day which started with H & M, TK Maxx, John Lewis, Selfridges etc! Plus any shops in between! We went in all of the above, and made a few purchases. I booked to have my eyebrows 'done' at 2.30. We had a tasty tea and a scone for lunch in John Lewis, then went off for a wander around more of the small roads in Mayfair, which brought us out in Regent Street. More shops to visit and interesting buildings to admire. When we returned to Oxford Street for my eyebrow appointment, the road was full of police cars and fire engines, plus a lot of buses and taxis as the road had been closed. It didn't stop my appointment and for the third time in my life I had eyebrows shaped and tinted. They are usually sparse and pale, and I've never really bothered with them at all. But Mollie said the girl did a good job and was pleased...so I'm pleased too! It is definitely something that is more important to her generation though!

We walked through Carnaby Street, down to Piccadilly, then Trafagar Square, where we visited the National Gallery. I wanted Mollie to see a few really famous paintings - so The Waterlilies - Monet, and the Sunflowers - Van Gogh. But we also saw The Hay Wain by Constable, and many others by very notable artists, and this enormous painting which Mollie liked, by Sir Frederick Leighton (never heard of him myself, but the painting is amazing) . A proper painting is how she described it.

We walked from there to Covent Garden - both flagging and weary - buying a meal deal in Tesco on the way.

Eventually made our way to the main road and caught a bus back to King's Cross then a short walk to the room. Mollie has a sore foot today. I was surprised how mobile I was, considering quite how much I ached yesterday. But we still both don't want to take another step today, so it had been a tesco pasta salad, crisps and a cuppa in the room, chilling to 'Bend it like Beckham'. A face mask for me (but not over my eyebrows!!) Mollie had hers on in the bath - so no photo. Feeling like it has been a successful planned/unplanned day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.