CrocusMan

By TonyG

Flower Power

A trip to Shrewsbury for the flower show where I was part of a team of helpers on the Shropshire AGS stand.   A good publicity opportunity for the group, we chatted with a host of interested folk .... and turned one of them lives about 400 yards from me and also has an allotment in Tywyn!  Getting there involved a 530am alarm so despite a siesta lying on the damp turf behind our stand (I did sleep) I am suitably knackered tonight!

The show was much depleted compared to last year, a shame but also meant it was less congested in the marquees.   There were some spectacular displays nonetheless, particularly the begonias exhibited by members of the National Begonia Society - extra pic.   But these roses, arranged as if floating in a glass bowl, were my favourite for the artistry of the exhibit.

I left at 6pm, home at 9 after a sop for food and a little bit of supermarket shopping, seems that not staying late for the fireworks was a good move as the event ended early around 7pm when a bomb threat (now thought to be a hoax) was received by the police.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.