Live it loud!

By Lostpixel

While my guitar gently weeps

As blipped a few weeks ago, my boys bought me a diy electric guitar build for my birthday. I should point out I have zero guitar playing skills although I did have some musical abilities in my younger days playing brass instruments. 

I fettled the neck and frets, sanded the body to what I thought was a smooth finish. The fretboard was oiled (but needs doing again - the dry wood has soaked up that first treatment) and lacquered the body and neck. 
It looks quite nice.
Over a few days, I've acquired some luthier skills by sorting out the tuning, string heights, and radius. Not been able to sort the intonation yet though. Need some assistance with that. The nut needs a little fettling and the string height reducing a little I suspect. All of that was quite enjoyable to learn and do.

Jonathan dropped off some his things for a stay for a few days next week before setting off again for a weekend. That included the PRS SE Custom 24 "Floyd" guitar I bought him last year. Probably won't take much guessing, but, that is the one on the right.

I picked his guitar up and the difference in feel is huge. The engineering is another league - and so it should be. The dual hum-buckers make it a lovely sounding guitar.
Jonathan now has four guitars - three electric and one acoustic. He told  me before he set off on his travels again, this PRS is his for life. 
My guitar is feeling a little sorry for itself now. Lol.

All I now have to do, is to learn to play myself. And then set my target on a 1959 Fender Stratocaster! Got to dream ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.