MrsK277

By MrsK277

Major event

A big day. The wedding of Becca and Jamie at The Cathedral, then onto Colville Hall. This was a milestone for me. A major event, with a mixture of friends and strangers. At the moment I find that apart from a select few, I'm better with strangers! MrK was working all day so after dear Annette put a wave in my hair, I applied makeup for the first time in months, panicked I couldn't find lipstick, dressed in heels and a pretty frock, FK walked me over to the bridge in the park where Annette took over. The hardest part was walking through the ground to get to the park. A lot of familiar faces wanted to stop and chat and I was struggling to stay calm and get control of my breathing. With the reassurances of them and specifically FK, I regulated myself and managed to stay out until 7.30!! 
It was such a glorious day, dresses flowers, kilts, bagpipes and food. Becca looked so beautiful and together they make a wonderful couple. Every little detail had been thought of and even down to personalised, homemade minature bottles of sloe gin for all to keep with berries from the lakes, picked by their own fair hands. After dinner and speeches, everyone moved back out to the lawn where we'd had drinks and canapés earlier and I introduced myself to Thomas, Jamie's nephew, who was 8 weeks old and didn't want to let go of my finger, so we walked and chatted for a while, before saying our thank you's and goodbyes. Fran from America wanted to get back to her 2yr old daughter in Chelmsford with in law's,  and I took it as the right time to leave, giving her a lift. It meant I didn't have to face the Ceilidh, which was obviously loads of fun, but maybe a step too far after a long day. Shattered but happy. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.