This is the day

By wrencottage

Macro novice

Having enjoyed using my 100mm macro lens yesterday for the snail shot, but not being entirely satisfied with how it came out, I did a bit of boning up on the theory online and then I took the macro out for a walk this afternoon so I could have a little practice. Smithers is always a good walking companion at times like this because, although he doesn’t actually take many photos himself, he’s got a better memory than me, and gently reminds me when I forget the basics …!

It wasn’t the best day for it, because it was pretty breezy, which made the task a whole lot more difficult, but the main thing is that I enjoyed myself. The images are not nearly as sharp as some of the amazing ones I see here on Blip, but I really enjoyed trying to put into practice what I’ve learned about shutter speed priority, manual focussing and the different aperture effects. Any advice from fellow blippers would be gratefully received. ;-)

The centre image is a honeysuckle flower, and the bottom right is Choisya ternata. Otherwise they’re pretty self-explanatory.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.