SparseRunner

By SparseRunner

Exciting

Today I went to Glentress for the elite men's mountain bike race in the UCI World Championships. I had bought two tickets, but A was away so, although Y had no idea what she'd be watching, she came along with me. I had been unable to work out where to stand to get a good view of the action, as there were far more trails on the ground than would be used in the race. So it was fortunate that the place we chose before the start allowed us to watch riders going up and down on two parts of the course! After a couple of laps, and on the advice of spectator who had been watching the racing all week, we headed over to the "salmon leap" (pictured). This was a good call: there were a lot of people there, so the atmosphere was great, and a big screen meant that we could follow the progress of the race. It was very exciting, as Pidcock made his way into the lead, and then held off the charge of a New Zealander. 

Fortunately we'd gone by regular bus, as the queues at the end for the shuttle buses to the parking were huge, but we got the X62 that was waiting. Although it was packed, the atmosphere was lively, and I'm sure I was home before I'd have got onto a shuttle bus.

Earlier, I'd walked Django, done a wash, shopped for groceries, had a haircut, and still had a bit of time to work. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.