Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

On the Rutting Field

A small family unit, including a fawn from this year. I am seeing much more activity around the rutting field now the summer is progressing.  I have no idea when we might expect activity amongst the mature stags, as I haven't seen any in the area yet.  I suppose it will depend on how the weather we are experiencing at the moment affects their hormones.

The farmers have been busy, literally making hay while the sun shines (see extra).  One of the visits I was unable to make this week was to a farmer who, when I contacted him to reschedule said that he wouldn't have time to meet me anyway as he was driving the combine harvester and was likely to continue with it until the the fields were harvested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.