Living my dream

By Mima

More tap-work

Today another garden tap crapped out. Fortunately this one was a relatively quick fix: the washer had given up the ghost. I have a store of new washers for just such an eventuality.

I have worked out how to replace the broken tap and pipe from two days ago, and I’ll be off to the hardware shop in the morning to get the necessary bits and pieces that I need.

I worked on the plumbing around the various stages of making cheese. Today it was a Gouda. This is the start of an experiment to compare and contrast cheese made with pasteurised milk and with raw milk. Many people swear that raw milk makes a much ‘better’ cheese. 

Today I used pasteurised milk. Next weekend I shall make a Gouda using raw milk. Then at the start of November when they are mature I’ll conduct a serious taste-test.

The sun has been a bit hit and miss today and it was distinctly overcast when Bean and I had our walk.

I am a long way behind with commenting on your journals and responding to your comments on mine. Thank you for sticking with me. My mind is still preoccupied with the slow death of my brother #3. Last I heard he was very weak, but still alive. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.