Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Man at work

Although we intended having a restful day after our 3 days with the boys, we had too much to do to indulge.

Mr C had to sand and prime the wood around the windows before anything rotted in which case it would have required expensive scaffolding to fix. He’s hoping to get it as far as priming before rain comes. Then it will be several coats of paint.

I had to bake for Book Group 1 coming tomorrow. (I much prefer the other book group’s rule of tea/coffee and a biscuit). The scones will have to be made tomorrow to be fresh and I’ll get a small pot of clotted cream from the deli to have with my homemade blackcurrant jam. The only bread left in the Co-op was an olive sourdough. (The baker has closed down). I’m not sure what kind of dainty sandwich I can use that for - maybe an open one with hummus and salad, or egg and herb. I made Date, Apple and Walnut cake (Delia) while roasting aubergines to use in chutney. We’ll have some choc pistachio bars kept in the fridge from when I made them last week.

Carol brought 6 enormous aubergines and 2 pkts of finger chillis. The Fresh India recipe hadn’t got anything in to preserve it so I adapted it by adding some vinegar and sugar as well as cumin, Nigella seeds, tamarind paste and ginger. It tastes really good but only produced 3 jars, one of which I’ll take to Carol. When the oven is on for scones tomorrow I’ll roast the last of the aubergines and make more, using up the last of the finger chillis.

Nathaniel has found some Spanish boys to play football with in the square. Ella is addicted to wordle and got it in 2 today.

.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.