ArcLight+

By ArcLight

A good tern

I peaked early today. An excellent swim in surprisingly good weather. I covered quite a lot of ground, mostly on my own, swimming up towards the rocks and quite far out to sea. There, my main companions were the terns, swooping into the sea and diving for fish. Sadly, I didn't get a picture of the diving, only the swooping. And, of course, they are pretty distant. But at some points they were quite close by. There was also a guillemot at one point but not diving around my legs as they did last Saturday.

Although Sunday swims are often quite big, this one was much smaller, and most of us did our own thing, rather than floating, bobbing and chatting. That was fine by me. Mr A also had people to chat to on the beach. And it was warm. Really warm. He took his jumper off, which doesn't happen very often when he's standing on the beach at Shandwick. When I got out of the water, I was completely buzzing with the positive energy which sea swimming gives me.

Later on, we've been getting up to domestic stuff - in particular Mr A who removed the towel radiator from the bathroom wall and replaced it with a new one. He is obviously fed up of having to use the fuse to switch it on and off after the inbuilt switch broke. I did a fair bit of weeding of the front garden, and moved a few more plants around the back that belong better in the raised beds, creating some space for a few things from the garden centre tomorrow or later in the week. As you do.

For dinner, we reheated the remains of the curry we had on Friday. It was just as excellent second time around. The earlier positive energy has now resolved itself into an early sleepiness. I am not sure how late I will stay up today. I was awake for two hours in the night last night, and I think it is showing now, although I did eventually get back to sleep and then didn't wake up properly until 7.45. We've had some warmer nights again recently, so I switched over to our new 2.5 tog duvet. I found it much more comfortable, so it wasn't being too hot that kept me awake. I suspect it was something to do with that feeling anticipating getting back to work. Hey ho, here we go again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.