Shopping and wandering locally

After Mr A had produced full cooked breakfasts for all from the kitchen, with only the minimum of assistance from me, and I'd done a short peloton ride to get rid of the cobwebs, we went out to wander the streets. It wasn't entirely, or at all, aimless. Down to the market, where we had Williams and Johnson coffee sitting in the shade. Down towards the docks and then back up to Quality Yard, to look at their street art in progress, before a circuit of the Coatfield Hoardings. My blip is just a miscellany of some shots taken with the phone, although I did have the camera with me. But somehow these seemed better to capture the day.

Having visited the bottle shop on Great Junction Street (P owed me a bottle of gin :-)) and picked up some sausages from the butchers, we concluded our wander with a couple of pints in the sun at Campervan, enjoying Croque Monsieurs from Cocorico, who provide the excellent service of bringing your order across when it's ready.

Back here for a bit of a rest, I discovered we had a some water coming through the ceiling in the family bathroom, necessitating the placing of a bucket in a strategic position between the bath and the toilet. I alerted V and she came down to have a look, concluding it must have come from the bath pipework in her family bathroom, directly above, as her friend who is staying had just had a bath. It was never more than a persistent drip and it stopped after a while. She'll get a plumber in next week and make sure she doesn't use the bath. She was very pissed off, but I told her not to worry.

Mr A and P then headed out to take in 1902 at the Leith Arches (our aim was to keep the weekend "local", with no venturing on crowded buses or into thronging streets, or massive long walks that H wouldn't be happy with. They both loved the play - to the extent that I think we'll go back and see it together some time in the next few days. They took in another short shift at Campervan on the way back, giving P a good period of time for decompressing and a relief from being on duty, while H stayed with me. I made dinner - a venison mince meat pie. It wasn't my best effort, but everyone seemed happy and satisfied.

We were hoping to see a full moon rising over the school opposite, but while we could see the light as it came over the horizon line, there was too much cloud and we never actually saw the moon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.