Hill Top Ramblings

By janepetleyjones

French jars

One of the little things I brought home from our holiday in France was these rather charming honey jars (empty)!
I have been keeping them to fill with some of my best honey, to use as gifts for family and friends.
It occurs to me that it illustrates the difference in culture between our two countries. I bought them in an ordinary French supermarket, E. Leclerc. Just on the shelves in the kitchenware department. 
Now in England, I don’t think I’ve ever seen even jam jars in a supermarket, let alone honey jars. 
Why is this? Do the French value home produce more than we do? Are there many more beekeepers who would expect to be able to buy their jars off the shelf? Or were they expecting English beekeepers on holiday?

I think my cry of delight when I saw them could probably be heard throughout the store!

Anyway, I was very pleased and am wishing now that I had bought more. The jars available here are ‘ tres ordinaire’. If anyone is going and could fit in a few packs…..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.