Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Summer Holiday Day 1: Dumfries & Galloway/Penrith

We did a family voice memo discussion and here is the transcription using Whisper:

summer holiday 2023 day one 
we'd never been to Dumfries and Galloway and so unexplored and we looked at the forecast it looked like it was
going to be really nice yeah Dumfries and Galloway on Friday evening so we booked a
chalet wooden chalet in what we thought was a wood only in a forest and we
arrived there and what did you think Conor that place yeah Conor's whispering
it into Dad's ear. I didn't hear that. Conor what did you think? I'd like to hear your voice
this will be a historic kind of did you enjoy that did you like that Lodge did
say it out loud please yes what did you like about it
honestly what did you like about it things it had a smell it had a big
window it had a mezzanine level yeah which you know from the pictures you
think oh yeah mezzanine level but it had a funny smell and things it was like an
old foxhole yeah we had stopped at a viewpoint along the way and then we were
kind of thinking about going to a beach but we kind of like took the wrong way
and then decided oh we'll just go to the place first thankfully we did because
that gave us the time to find somewhere else because I mean it was just so
creepy no towels no towels no but also like the bed the bedding looked like it
had been everything looked like it had been bought and maybe 1979 1980 and not
replaced since then it had that wicker furniture that I remember like wishing
that we had some and then you know and then I saw it in real life I'm like my
god this is awful like the kind of like wicker furniture with big cushions on it but it was
also the fact that it was surrounded by trees yeah but not nice trees not in a nice
way the kind of like looming oh we're gonna get murdered yeah I genuinely felt
like it was the kind of place where the people that rent it out do so because
they come there in the night and harvest your organs yeah well interestingly I got a message
after we left from the guy saying oh I see you've arrived but then left and I
was thinking how did you know we had arrived no way oh god so that's just even more
why did you leave we were still looking forward to meeting you oh god I mean at
least we know that if we were ever in a horror movie which we very close like
we were very close to it's like trust your instincts we would survive if we
were in a horror movie yeah we what did you did you reply I did I said it had a smell
you smell someone who finds themselves in a situation where they're like oh
this is not what I thought it was and now I need to get out of here yeah and
that's exactly what we did yeah we got out of there yeah we ran we ran far far
away to Penrith yeah thankfully I managed to get onto the Wi-Fi too and there was
a lovely turned out to be a lovely apartment in Penrith it was another hour and a half drive
but felt felt quite ecstatic kind of getting away from that place even though
we'd already spent like a lot of money on that place and just to kind of ditch
even more money after we've just ditched a whole holiday to Mallorca. I mean at least it's inspiring for writing purposes I took loads of pictures to the weird creepy place so I can use it as a setting. I'll need those because when we're talking about this
and when because I thought Conor might be able to edit some photos over over
this sort of podcasty like kind of discussion and yeah it was yeah arriving
in Penrith and finding this place like a new a new flat that was kind of
weirdly symmetric. Well it was a converted chapel so there were eight apartments and we were on the...yep.
And what did you think to that? It was just so nice to be arriving somewhere. It was a very
drastic change like I didn't even realize how bad the last place was until I
saw the apartment. The apartment was really nice, it smelled nice, it was modern I guess.
They had had two staircases up to the bedrooms that were kind of mirror images of each other
and then there was a shower and a bath kind of behind them. And this was a little corridor between...
With fire escape in it. It was a very clever use of space I thought yeah.
And oh yeah the TV didn't work. Until we turned it off and on a little bit. Then it worked.
But the weather wasn't very good in Penrith. So yeah we didn't explore the place yet. Those
day one and day two needless to say I didn't complete my rights. So that was day one done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.