Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Summer Holiday Day 2: Chester

We did a family voice memo discussion and here is the transcription:

So summer holiday 2023 day two we woke up in Penrith.
Yes in the apartment. Yeah it had been quite hot during the night
um because it was two double beds I was in with Conor and we did have the
the, what can I call it, the Velux window open but it was it was quite hot
um went for a walk a little walk around Penrith never been for a walk around Penrith and it was
a very short walk but it was it's like Penrith's I quite like it. And then Conor had a bath
in a special kind of child-sized bath. Mini bath yeah. Mini bath.
And then we set off for did yeah did you actually book the place and so we set off for Chester. No we went to Booths
We went to Booths. We went to Booths first. You went into Booths and we were waiting in the car
and then the rain came on really heavy. I went to Booths and I got some bread yeah. And then because I suggested it because you said if you got a brolly I didn't I didn't have one so you drove
over to kind of pick me up and as a result you ended up driving. And then I ended up driving
all the way to Chester in the rain. Which is quite a novel experience. It was quite stressful. But
it also did give me a chance to sort of research options and also book tickets for the things that
we did that day which were go and see Barbie. For me and for mum again although you asked me if I
would be opposed to seeing barbie again and I said no but I didn't know we were going to the cinema
so I thought you meant like at some point at some point because I thought that if you're going to
go to cinema we would go to see the new like Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles movie yeah but nope
Barbie again two days after I had three days no two days at that point after I had just seen it
on my birthday with my friends but was it better it was better the second time yeah I mean I was
actually able to see all the little details and I was like laughing about it with mum and I guess
like I mean to be completely honest when I was with my friends they didn't seem to appreciate
it very much and that was probably quite stressful for you because you'd invited them and you're
like yeah whereas obviously we were all loving it so it's fine yeah and we had really good seats
yeah and although Orla didn't realise that her seat reclined until yeah so I got a large popcorn me and
Conor shared a large popcorn and dad only fell asleep once that is an achievement it's incredibly hard
not to fall asleep after a big so is that why you missed Rob Brydon when you're sleeping oh my god
yeah but you also missed the beginning you'll have to watch Barbie again as well
because you missed the 2001 a space odyssey beginning because you were out buying popcorn
um and we the only tickets left were the second row but they had we were quite worried about that
but actually it was absolutely fine yeah I never realised how cool it is looking up at the screen
it's massive especially when you've got really good seats like that yeah yeah and they were
the cheapest seats as well well how do you wake someone up tap them on the shoulder aggressively
okay what's that from Barbie no I told her to wake you up oh right okay and so there's a point
in the film where there's like a big musical number and I saw Conor leaning over to whisper
something to Orla and then Orla kind of said to me Conor just asked me what is going on
was this the Ken's yeah it's the Ken's one which I absolutely adored by the way the homage to
singing in the rain I didn't know that was a homage to singing yeah I did like it still
okay so what do we do after and then then so yeah we're still raining at that point and we
go back in the car and so this was at Cheshire Oaks retail park
and it was so busy it was a Saturday because you were thinking about going to the Lululemon outlet
shop but it was a complete nightmare because the night before I had ruined my my 60 pound
Lululemon super tech t-shirt when did you get it in London in London
and I caught some because we had chorizo pasta for dinner on
and in Penrith and because we didn't have proper proper pasta dishes we were eating out of like
solid bowls this is why I should always wear my yeah my my gilet is serves as a bib as well
or just have like an old crappy t-shirt that you put on whenever you
um yeah I know never to eat chorizo pasta whilst wearing a Lululemon t-shirt yeah lesson learned
um and okay so what do we do after barbie um conor wants to play games
well you seem very occupied like shuffling around the table conor that was quite good
um but but we are we are recording history this is the holiday of yes so we didn't go
shopping we didn't go shopping we went we drove into chester which by the way generations of
so grandma's grandad was born in chester and generations of Carrs have lived in
Chester before moving to Huddersfield. In chester we we um checked into the crown plaza hotel
um which was kind of it felt a bit a bit kind of
dated oh it was quite dated yeah it was quite dated needing some there's a massive sign in
the entrance that said run in all capitals which was quite weird after like you know
the cabin in the woods where the people would come to harvest our organs um what i don't remember
that and they probably wouldn't have seen it but i took a picture it was fine
it was it was nice it was fine it was fine it needs uh it does need an upgrade we were going
to go potentially get to go to the swimming pool which which is kind of one of the reasons
we ended up in the hotel but yeah but again we had so we had two rooms and there was me and orla in
one room and dad and conor and the other and me and orla watched the kind of 1960 whatever version
of the 39 steps with kenneth moore
and we went out went out to pizza express for dinner yes we did
conor said it was very loud it was very loud but we passed the big clock that was constructed in
1817 was it not no that was when it started yeah it was finished in 18 the east gate clock
there was a six and a nine or a nine and a six i don't remember i think oh well it was constructed
it was finished in the 19th century but by the way during that time when you were watching the
39 steps corner was playing um legend of zelda tears of the kingdom yeah which i started
and i was researching kind of what sort of holiday options because this holiday did not have much
planning time yeah it was planned it sort of wasn't planned whereas previously i would have had a lot
more time to you to figure out what what we do um but yeah just to just to turn out to be even
though i really liked chester yeah it was nice nice in the evening um we we um we walked through
chester market on our way to pizza express yeah that's very impressive particularly on the way
back when there's like a proper disco going on with the dj well not disco but the disco music
being played we went back to the hotel i went up to the rooms and then oh yeah so yeah so me and
mum went down and to the for a drink in the bar well i and there was an amazing sunset oh yeah i
took a picture of that as well but i was in uh dad and connor's room with connor and i was spending
the whole time texting my friends and connor was playing tears of the kingdom
and then we came back upstairs and we watched some of the tony bennett
yeah because he's recently died yeah yeah and then it was still playing when i came in and i was
getting ready for bed but then we never went to bed yeah and then we went to bed and that was
the end of day three day three day two sorry yeah day two yeah not day three penrith to cheshire

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.