Orla & Conor

By OrlaConor

Summer Holiday Day 4: Llandwyn Island, Anglesey

We did a family voice memo discussion about the day and here is the transcript:

Okay, this is summer holiday 2023, day four.
It's day four now.
We haven't arrived back home yet.
Yes we have.
Liar!
We are now back in the house.
What do you mean? I'm still circling around the table.
Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah.
And we woke up in the caravan.
Do you really, really want to play games?
Well, what's changed? That's been the theme of the holiday.
So Conor, you enjoyed sleeping in the caravan, didn't you?
Yes.
Why?
Because the room wasn't comfortably big. I feel like my bedroom is a bit too big.
Okay.
And too open.
Open.
Yeah, it did look very cosy and kind of compact.
But the beds were quite narrow, weren't you saying?
Yes, the beds work right now. I couldn't turn properly.
And in the morning, whilst we were packing up, you got to go outside and play...
With a dog.
Yeah, we got to go outside and I tossed the rugby around the corner.
The rugby bowl.
The rugby bowl.
And it turns out we were then playing piggy in the middle because the dog that belongs to the owners of the place came out and really wanted to play with us.
And she really wanted to, yeah.
Yeah, what kind of dog was that?
He or she?
She, a Border Collie.
How do you even know it was a she?
Because I read about her in the book.
The owners had written about her in the book that was in the caravan.
Well, she was following along, we've got videos of it, she was following along and chasing the ball and she was very well behaved because every time she got it, I went, oi, she stepped away from it immediately.
Yeah.
Very well behaved.
And then we set off, driving past the ginormous speedboat, to cut him around a speedboat that they had parked up there, and we drove to the Treborth Botanic Gardens right on the edge of sort of near Bangor.
Right next to the Manai Bridge.
Very close to the Manai Bridge.
It was a really cool forest when we drove in.
There was bamboo everywhere.
Well, not everywhere.
There was bamboo, it was cool.
There was a nice kind of circular wooden arch.
It was a Chinese garden.
It was a Chinese garden.
Yeah, took a couple of photos of you.
And yeah, it was really nice and it was just nice weather.
A nice little kind of break in the journey before we headed to Payneville.
What's Payneville?
We arrived at Llandwyn Island and thought, OK, let's all get into our...
Well, I said I was putting my flip-flops on and then everyone was like...
Yeah, I'll put my sliders on.
I'll put my sandals on, you know, the sandals that I've never worn before.
And to be honest, it didn't occur to me that it would be a problem because your sandals are Birkenstocks
and I have Birkenstocks and my Birkenstocks are really comfortable.
So I just kind of thought yours would be as well.
Turns out...
No.
Luckily, I had packed, completely randomly packed, plasters.
Yeah, so we walked up the beach and we went through the trees and up the beach and it was fine.
And then we passed some sand that was really spiky and it was painful.
It was a long walk, it was six kilometres.
This is why everybody hates sand.
But the other thing that we didn't do is that we didn't try to take times and the island gets cut off at high tide.
We had a picnic on the island, which wasn't an island when we arrived.
It wasn't a picnic when we arrived. It wasn't an island when we arrived.
It wasn't even an island if it gets cut off with the tide.
And then by the time we got back to where the tide comes in, it was properly coming in
and we had no option but to take our flip flops and sandals.
But it was only kind of like...
And I lost my plasters to the waves.
I mean, thankfully, they just looked like I managed to grab them before they blitted.
But I think it can get quite deep.
I think you can get stranded because actually, once we got back, I noticed lots of,
please pay attention to the tidings.
Like, oh, I should have noticed that was the way it...
Stuck for hours.
Thankful that didn't happen.
But yeah, we walked back up the beach and I was in severe pain.
There were pebbles and sharp sandal up the beach.
I couldn't even walk barefoot.
So yeah, that was that.
But after intense suffering, we finally, finally made it to the car park
and I saw the ice cream van.
And it was reminiscent of that glorious, victorious moment at Duke of Edinburgh
when I saw that co-op, that glorious co-op, the light at the end of the tunnel.
And yeah, we had ice cream. It was nice.
So you've become quite acquainted with pain this year.
Yes, I have.
You know what's better than ice cream?
What?
Stuff that you...
Potatoes with the spice of rosemary.
Really?
That's a herb, actually.
Roasted potatoes.
Rosemary potatoes are better than ice cream.
Wow.
I guess spice is just seasoning.
Seasoning. Potatoes with seasoning.
Yeah, I agree with you.
Right, we'll have those on Sunday, shall we?
Yes.
So we had ice creams and then we went back to the car
and then drove to...
To the accommodation.
The house was called Stretton.
Stretton House, yeah.
Stretton House.
Brindoux.
Brindoux.
A bungalow.
In Anglesey.
Yeah, it's really, really nice.
On the west coast of Anglesey, about halfway along.
And yeah, it was an extended bungalow with a roof terrace.
And they left us Welsh cakes.
Yes, that's right.
And chocolate.
Yep, and there was a whole load of beer and cider from the previous guests,
which we had a couple of cans of still up.
But we then left some magnums, so we kind of like heaved it out.
It was lovely. It was a really nice house.
Gigantic TV, so we were able to watch...
Is that where we are now?
No.
No.
It's just on the same one with your head.
So, yeah, we arrived there and on the first night...
We had pizza.
Pizza.
Yeah, that's where we recorded David.
That's right, yeah.
Three.
We were going to be...
We would have been going out to the Oyster Catcher restaurant in that close...
Rosinda.
Rosinda, yeah.
Had it been open, but actually I'm glad that we didn't.
Yeah, because I think it would have detracted from the next night if we had gone out.
Why are you acting as if you can tell the future?
It's...
So, we had pizza.
We had pizza.
We had pizza.
And then...
We watched.
We went and sat in the big living room.
We pulled the sofa up close to the telly.
And we watched episode five of Good Omens season two.
And I loved it.
I guess it's actually...
It's probably just at the very end of the day and...
I'm supposed to be in bed right now.
I'm feeling tired.
Oh, yeah, we also watched on the telly animation versus math.
Oh, I didn't know.
And it was really cool.
Yeah.
And related to our subsequent...
Podcast listening.
Yeah, about...
We listened to a...
This was like days later.
Yeah.
Listening to the curious case of Brotherhood and Frye on imaginary numbers.
Not just...
Draft driving through Scarborough.
But anyway, we're not there yet.
We'll come back to that.
We're not there yet.
Yeah, that's in another episode.
Yeah, so that was...
Anything else on day four?
No.
I don't think so.
Okay, right.
That endeth day four.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.