CrocusMan

By TonyG

Damp

Something of an understatement after a very wet day.

The plan was for Jamie and I to go over to have lunch at the camp site where Clara's family are pitched with their caravan.  However it had been so wet overnight that the water table there was pretty much at the surface so the pizza making was transferred to my kitchen.  This visit involved a morning of cleaning and tidying .... of the kind that special visitors inspire :-))   My morning of bulb repotting went west but tbf the housework needed doing and I will enjoy the benefits for a while yet.   The pizzas, on home-made authentic pizza dough, were delicious.

I had to leave the party early as I had a volunteer guarding turn today.  Two trips up the line, first the lightly loaded final public train of the day then an evening Driver Experience, booked for a friend of a fellow volunteer.  These are always fun and light work for the guard as the only passengers allowed are a small group of the guest driver's family and friends, in todays case just close family.   They chose to do their own catering but I was able to open the cafe for somewhere warm to sit.   The evening ended late, with the train returned to the sheds after dark, a rare chance for me to practice with light signals instead of flag and hand ones although actually it was my assistant who got to practice, under my supervision.

The blip pic today is of the public train at Nant Gwernol, the end of the line, as we prepared to run the loco round to the other end of the train.  Assistant, Bryn is bringing the tail lamp to what will soon become the rear of the train, the few passengers chose to remain in their seats, in the dry!   Happily, the weather brightened for the evening train which returned to a red and gold sky in the north-west.   A better day tomorrow hopefully.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.