Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Even The Birds Want To Park In The Shade

I was driving through mom's neighborhood and pulled over to watch a Gambel's Quail family run hither and yon.  

They would run to a shady spot, rest, then run to the next spot out of the sun...one little guy behind the other, with Mama in front and Papa keeping anyone from falling behind.  I'll get a decent shot, some day.

This cactus was right outside of the bush where the family apparently lived.  The father is the one who protects the nest and warns the rest of imminent threats.  He just sat there looking back and forth.  

He found his spot in the shade.  In the meantime, the sun was burning up my legs so I put a towel on my lap while I sat in the scorching car, engrossed in watching these beautiful birds.


I have to insert this personal note for posterity.  I officially cracked the 160 lb. barrier when I got weighed in today.  I have been in the 160's for a long time.  It's been frustrating.  But with today's 156 (yea!), I am, oh, so close to having lost eighty pounds.  I'll check in when I make it :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.