NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Uncle Robert

Today would have been my Uncle Robert’s 76th birthday. He died in his 50s in 2002 of oesophageal cancer. He was known as Rab. Today’s Blip is of him as a wee boy.

He was a heavy smoker and drinker and started smoking about thirteen. I believe oesophageal cancer is linked to alcohol and nicotine consumption. He was a hardworking man, a lorry driver.

He was a very gentle, kindhearted man, one of my Mum’s two brothers. My Auntie Alice, his late wife, died at 42 and he never recovered from that bereavement. They were married at 17. I hope he’s in an astral pub, in a “Champagne Supernova in the sky”…no doubt with a fag in hand too!

I have been continuing to recover from the chest and throat infections, it has been a slow process. I have been trying to do gentle exercise, get fresh air and continue to pace and eat as healthily as possible. I’m still on antibiotics. 

My fibromyalgia has flared a lot and I have had a lot of higher pain days so not been Blipping or doing much Duolingo. Need to get back into both.

Spent time with my boyfriend yesterday, it was good to spend some quality time with him and enjoyed some fresh air.

I hope you have all had a wonderful Tuesday :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.