secret garden

By freespiral

Assumption

I warned you!
A big day. First into Kinsale and a delightful blip meet with RP1. We had lunch al fresco in her gorgeous garden then went into town to persuade the Bookstór to take some books - persuasion accomplished. We also admired the stairs painted in homage to Anne Bonney, a famous female pirate born in Kinsale.
Then I went on to pay homage to a very different female! It was pattern day at Lady's Well in Timoleague and I hadn't been before. By now it was roasting, there were buzzards flying overhead and there were crowds - lots of pix but they will vanish shortly to be recycled. A warm and friendly gathering, two ladies rushed across to greet me - people who had been at my talk on Saturday! Elderly ladies were carefully brought in on the arms of daughters; friends, all seemingly called Mary, caught up with the news; rounds were paid; there were wheelchairs and crutches; young lads with mullets and a small girl with sequined rabbit's ears hairband. The priest was thoughtful and eloquent and talked about the quiet and peace of the place- no mention of the alarming seven headed dragon that shocked me at another well near Bantry last year.  The grotto was beautifully decorated - note the dove. A man, possibly a monk, had a dream and woke up to find a dove had left a letter on his head. He opened it and the contents instructed him to dig where he was sitting and he would find the well. Then there was a rush for the water - actually a very narrow opening and hard to get into. The water percolates up fresh and clear the but the blessed eel had wisely scarpered. Strange and rather wonderful.
A quick swim was needed after all this so I stopped off on my way home - fresh. 
 Himself had managed to get baked potatoes on the oven - I was ravenous. Tomorrow I am going nowhere.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.