MarilynParker

By MarilynParker

Home!

Sofia being wheeled out of the hospital, this evening, by her brother, Kaide. Home at last. I don't know if it's me, but she looks way older than she is on this photo - she won't be 8 till late October. I don't think she was impressed with the wheelchair.
So glad she's home.
Had a bit of a walk this morning to take my mind off the pain of the shoulder. It's horrible in the mornings. I find it very hard to get in a position that's good for sleep. Perhaps I should sleep sitting up! I wish. 
Sofia is on oral antibiotics for a few days now but she is doing well. Had a bit of an itchy rash this morning on her abdomen but the doctor mustn't be concerned as she got discharged. 
She has been very brave while in hospital. It must be daunting for someone so young. I remember being in hospital to have my tonsils out and I hated it! I must have been 3 or 4 and I was indignant that they put me in a cot! It may have been a child's bed with safety rails but to me it looked like a cot. Oddly I have no memories of any pain or discomfort just the cot experience and a feeling I was going to fall over / be sick (pass out but I didn't know it a t the time) when I was taken to the toilet. I think Sofia is of an age that she will remember more.
Has been okayed to go on holiday after 10 days (naturally if wound check ok) - which means the 11 day holiday to Turkey that was going to be cancelled is now a 7 day one from next Wednesday with a reasonable fee to change the flights. Will be able to go in the pool but no swimming allowed so probably best to avoid the pool!. She can paddle in the sea however. Karen has sorted the travel insurance. Happy days. Karen was still going to cancel the holiday but then she thought that Sofia will probably be running about wanting to do stuff by Wednesday and Karen might be climbing the walls (ha ha) so holiday it is!
Thankyou for all the good wishes for recovery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.