curns' corner

By curns

Flying the flag

The weather is still not as bad as the forecasters had predicted but the pirate flags above the beach attractions were definitely blowing hard in the wind. The sky, however, was lovely and clear and the sun was out. 

We took a bus around 11;30 to Newport.  Now that the Transport Interchange is nearing completion, it is clear to see why the Number 9 bus was not listed on any of the bus shelters. It’s the main route from Ryde to Newport and I’d found it odd that each of the times we’ve been here recently it was not very obviously promoted while other routes were clearly branded on bus shelters. Now we see that Number 9’s stop is on the road at the very front of the interchange and one of the last pieces of the jigsaw to be completed.  We just missed a bus but the service is frequent and we were on board the next one in a couple of minutes. The lady following us stopped to chat with the driver. She, clearly, does not like the new bus arrangements.  The bus driver made sure she knew it was the council’s decision not his.

On arrival in Newport, we stopped for cake - or, in my case, a toasted tea cake and tea  - at The Town Choice cafe. Given he unexpected sunniness, we opted to sit in the garden area. We weren’t the only ones brave enough to venture outside, a family of four seated themselves at a table across the way. It was quite sheltered from the winds when the gusts got up, which did occasionally happen, and I feared my teacake would be blown across the garden. Just an excuse to eat it quickly.

We wandered the shops of Newport. I’ve got to a bit of an impasse with a book I am reading. Sometimes, to unblock my reading habit, I opt for a thriller, usually some kind of murder mystery: the kind that’s easy reading. If I was writing one them, I would claim that the protagonist has picked up an ‘airpot thriller’ from some airside newsstand.  So, we wandered Waterstones and I picked up a book based solely on the title, Death and Croissants, and I will see if it unblocks my reading hiccup.

Also to B&M for a collection of cleaning products but failing to find the air fresher I wanted. And to Dunelm to pick up the frames we ordered yesterday. We were met at the front of the store by a lovely lady who was there to make sure orders for collection were ready by the time we got to the tills. We shopped for a few other pieces and picked up the frames on the way out.

By now there was quite a lot of bags and one of them had three large picture frames in it . PY was reluctant for us to teach grab a handle of the frame-bag but it was by far the easiest way to transport them, even if it got a little difficult when the pavement narrowed.  I decide I wanted to try and pick up a pair of trousers in M&S but he waited back by the supermarket with all the bags which made wandering M&S much easier. Then it was back to the flat where we framed-up the pictures. They look quite good but I think we need some kind of laser level to be able to hang them properly. That will be ordered for the next visit, whenever that is. 

In the late afternoon we wandered out again and stopped for a drink at the Harbour House bar by Ryde’s marina. It provides a nice look out to the sea across a few boats. One bottle of white turned into two as we sat there and a couple of their tapas-stye plates were also delivered. This is why we come to The Island.  It’s sad that Pride was cancelled because it would, probably, have been OK but we ended up with a lovely weekend in spite of it.

Weeknotes were also completed for this week. I wonder if I will keep that up?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.