Auguries

By McCaviti

Garden of Australian Dreams

I've dipped in and out of blipping for quite a while now, but this is my first attempt at a challenge (W-I-D-E on Wednesday ).  I'm not even sure I've got this right since not all my camera apps were speaking nicely with my Moment fisheye lens.  (I did get some nice fisheye shots, but none I liked as much as this).

It was a lovely day so Koryak and I went off for a ride around Lake Burley-Griffin, stopping off for near the uni for lunch so we could meet our son between physics lectures. We found a delicious new Chinese restaurant by the name of Bashan.  The aim was to gobble down some gluten in the absence of my daughter, but as it turned out only Koryak veered away from rice.

From there, I got a lot of great fisheye shots in our favourite Chinese supermarket but the plan always had been to stop off at the National Museum of Australia on the way home. We're members and have access to the lounge so it always makes a nice break, whether or not we look at any of the exhibitions.  

It's a very unusual, colourful building - I keep meaning to go on one of the architecture tours.  When I'm there I always love visiting Garden of Australian Dreams especially now they have an interesting sound installation.  Possibly I've even blipped it before, since in his younger days my son was quite the map enthusiast and it's laid out like a giant street atlas.

Since it's free entry (apart from the special exhibitions), it's a popular destination for parents of young children. I had been trying to get a people-free shot but this dad was entertaining his son by racing him around the garden in the pram, and it took me back to those early days of parenthood - hard work, but so rewarding - and the simple pleasures of rediscovering the world through a child's perspective..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.