gennepher

By gennepher

Ink painting

I nearly fell asleep on the swing last night again. It is relaxing to do before I go to bed.

I need a rocking chair indoors.

Wildlife videos
Two Foxes & Badger mingling together watched by Midnight
1min 9secs
https://youtu.be/IS1odc3iCIs


The fox with the thinner tail is the fox I called Skinny Fox last year. It was very small and underdeveloped last winter. I don't approve of people actively feeding foxes chicken and stuff daily (just my view so don't shoot me). I think they should manage themselves, unless we have a hard frozen winter, and then I agree with some help. But Skinny Fox last year was so thin, ribs sticking out, I just had to lend a hand (I think some of you didn't approve). Skinny Fox always came first thing last year, was terrified of anything, and it was easy to time some fresh meat for him.

The fox he is with is Foxy Loxy. I have no idea if they are siblings, friends or what, but they are a pair together. I think both foxes are males. And he still has a thin tail, but Skinny Fox has really filled out and developed to what he was. Skinny Fox chose to come in my garden, so I lent a helping hand. Was I right or not, that is not a question so please do not answer, I am still on the fence on that one. But this is my garden, so it's my rules, and I bend them as I see fit.

Just spent an hour on the swing with Midnight watching bluetits, blackbirds, 2 male robins, all the sparrows, and my little dunnock from last winter is now back on her own (presumably after raising a family) and she will probably now stay until spring, like she did last year.

Right - diabetes, I have been very low carb, only in that no processed foods at all allowed. Everything has to be fresh, freshly cooked, not messed and added to at all. So, any carbs are in the vegetables, meat, eggs, nuts etc. The vegetables are usually from my container garden. My blood glucose readings are good. Mine generally hover in the 6's up to 7.1 at times. It has taken me awhile to get there. I have stopped eating out because the last time I did, some of you might remember, it messed with my blood sugar readings horribly for weeks after, and I was not well.

The unintended consequence of the above is that I have lost weight. The last time I mentioned my weight, I said when I lost another stone that I would allow myself to buy those expensive watercolour inks. I just stood on the scales this morning (I do not weigh myself daily, just every now and then) and I have lost that stone. But I am not buying those watercolour inks yet. I feel I haven't tried hard enough even though I have lost that stone. I know you will disagree with me, most likely. I have 3 more stone to lose to reach my target weight. I've changed my goalpost for a reward. I now have to lose all that 3 stone before I can reward myself. And I have promised myself something else - a rocking chair for the front room when I have lost that additional 3 stone. I don't need stage by stage rewards. My reward is watching my birds in my garden in a morning. That is priceless.

And I can fit Jeans from many years ago. And I can fit my wedding dress that J bought me. No, I didn't get married, there wasn't time. J unexpectedly bought me this beautiful cream silk wedding dress and jacket with mother of pearl buttons all down the front on Thursday. How he could always buy a dress that fitted me perfectly, I will never know. He never saw me in it because he died in the early hours (4am) on Sunday morning. I can get in that dress again. This might be one of the reasons I am usually awake before 4 am in a morning. He died in 2009.

What do I eat in a day now? Well yesterday was coffee with fresh cream x2. I love my double cream. Breakfast was around 11am eggs x3 and several slices of bacon and tomatoes I have grown. Lunch (last meal of the day I usually have at 3 pm but I was late yesterday because I was experimenting painting) was 3 lamb chops and peas&tomatoes from my container garden and I had a snacking cucumber (bought from Farmfoods where I got my frozen lamb chops from) with crunchy peanut butter (no added sugar or oils or anything). And I nibbled some of my raspberries and blueberries and another lovely ripe sun kissed tomato I found.

If I eat a biscuit or anything with wheat flour, processed stuff etc in, the whole weight loss thing goes totally down the pan, and my blood sugars rise a lot, and it might take me more than a week or so to get back on track again. It took me a few weeks last time. It is simply not worth it.

Creative - experimenting with different inks, but this post is long enough, I will explain more tomorrow on the inks used etc.

Have a great day.

A cuppa now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.