YORKSHIREBRED

By Yorkshirebred

Damsons

Have missed a couple of days of blips, but apart from pub Wednesday - an interesting evening - I haven't been very far.  I couldn't do the Bus Pass Walk on Tuesday as I was waiting to see if I could get my washing machine sorted out.  Heard a strange noise on Monday night and then a smell of burning rubber. The seal between the drum and the door had twisted way out of shape. Spent Tuesday talking to AEG who said glass, plastic and rubber are classed as "fragile" so are not covered by the warranty.  My 5 year warranty runs out in December, and I have never needed it, so typical this should happen now and not be covered! I waited in to see if an engineer could come out from where I bought it, but no free slots. So, my son checked to make sure the suspension springs and the drum were okay - thankfully they seem to be, so a seal has been ordered but is not in stock until next week. Son tried to put the existing seal back into place, but the water leaked out of the door. Hopefully a new seal will work, but if not then more expense!  So this morning was spent hand washing a few items, and dismantling some old camping chairs so that the metal frames can go to the scrap man.  This afternoon, more clothes sorting and trying to read the next book club book or I will probably only get part way through it as usual!  Just a blip of the damson tree - the leaves seem to have some sort of problem, but so far most of the fruits look okay.  Hopefully there will be enough for the damson liqueur I like making!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.