Sebulon

By sebrose

Farewell, Dens

Back in the hospital, I sit with mum while she waits for an MRI. I run out of time, leaving her in the hands of the nurses until Jol can get there.

Back in Bedwyn, Moira gives me a lift to the station and I take the train to Bristol, via Hungerford and Westbury, arriving in the sunshine of a glorious day.

Dens’ Memorial is moving and sad. Her choir gives a short performance and Ewan talks about their years together. It’s a very sad affair - an unexpected death at a depressingly early age.

Over tea and cakes, I chat with Kevlin, Tony, and John C. And then it’s time to head home. A last farewell to Ewan and a walk to Temple Meads. Paddington. Kings Cross. Waverley.

Jol calls with an update. It’s not good news. They think mum has multiple myeloma. They’re keeping her in the hospital for further tests and pain control. Morphine.

Arriving just before 1:00am, I get a taxi to my car, and get home, exhausted. In the dark, I trip over the various items that Owen has left in between the front door and my bedroom. I need some sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.