a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Hard to find

The marsh warblers are getting harder and harder to find.  Each time I see one now I find myself wondering if this will be the last one I see now, until next year.  The reserves are pretty quiet for birdlife just at the moment.  I didn't even see a Marsh Harrier and that is quite unusual.  This little warbler popped up through the reeds and, as you can see from its alert stance, wasn't initially quite sure what to make of me.  It was sufficiently close for me not to have cropped this image at all, but as a result I could have done with a slightly narrower aperture to increase the depth of field - but I only had time to press the shutter release before it was gone.

The Z8 has gone back to Nikon, as part of their product recall, as its serial number is in the range affected by the two potential manufacturing flaws (lens mount sticking and strap lugs not being anchored properly).  I'm not sure that mine was actually affected by either issue as it had been performing in an exemplary fashion, but thought it best to take the free fix being offered.  When Nikon do this sort of thing they send you the camera back in pristine condition, so at least I'm getting a free sensor clean out of the process!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.