a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Bird in a bush

I surprised the heron, who hadn't realised that I was there.  It took flight and landed in the nearest bush, from where it steadily watched me.  An unusual bird for a bush this size.  After a while it realised that I wasn't moving and decided that it was safe to come down and start fishing again, although it chose a spot a little further away from me this time.

I rather like the unusual perch and the way the shape of the bush reflects the shape of the bird.  Herons often nest in trees, although not at this time of year.  On the Somerset Levels they often nest in the reed beds, although there is a large heronry in trees on the far side of one of the lakes (and as a result very difficult to get close to) that seems to have dozens of great white egrets in it.  Its like a block of flats for egrets.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.