Memories4Me

By Memories4Me

A Day of Contrasts

I began with a visit to Glasgow’s Museum of Modern Art to see the Banksy exhibit and the other galleries.  I can’t say I am a fan.  I guess I’m really dating myself but it still feels like vandalism to me regardless of the artistic quality of it.  Then in the afternoon I took an amazing tour of Glasgow Central railroad stations nether regions and all I can say is it was fabulous!  The best £15 if spent to date.  I loved the story of the town that progress wiped out.  There are only a couple of the original buildings remaining.  I’ve included a selfie one of the guides took several years ago with a mysterious figure in the background. The underground is very haunted but then again the hotel I’m staying in is one of the most haunted in Scotland. I ended with a glass of wine in an underground restaurant name Alston after the Main Street in the obliterated town.  The only “spirits” I saw today.  Phew!  What a day!  Gift#229: the chance to see this history and the art.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.