Teasel

By Teasel

Wild Flower Spiral

TT and I went for a run – together.  We haven’t run together for many years.  He’s so much faster than me, and I found it all too stressful   Anyway, he insisted today, so off we went. We ran into Axminster along the river and returned on a route that skirted through the town.  The return leg was very hilly.  It was hot and I was slow – but TT was quite slow too, so it all worked out ok.  It was good to get out for a run again,
 
Later in the morning TT made a picnic and then once the teen appeared, TT made the decision that we were going to Forde Abbey, which isn’t far away.  I wasn’t too sure about his choice, but I was definitely proven wrong.  What a  lovely place,  Wonderful gardens, grounds, and of course the abbey itself, which is now a home.  The weather really brightened up and it was lovely wandering around in the sunshine, enjoying the different parts of the garden, stopping off to have our picnic and watching the massive fountain.  We ended our visit n the tea room and my cake (orange and poppy seed) was delicious.
 
I bought a couple of things in the shop as I left.  The assistant asked me what my favourite thing had been.  My favourite thing was the spiral garden, a maze plated with wild flowers, which were blowing in the breeze.  BB’s favourite thing was the bog garden, while TT’s favourite thing was the tapestries in the house/abbey.
 
After a lovely afternoon we headed home for tea.  Once we had prepped, TT and I went for a walk to explore a potential running route.  It will not be a running route, as the path went through a farm yard.  The farmer was there and TT asked  about the path and he confirmed it was straight through, however  we were “set upon” by six crazy dogs, and once we eventually  got past them, the path seemed to just disappear (presumably because walkers can’t get past the crazy dogs), though we picked it up again at a bridge over a stream.  The route was far too stressful to be a running route.  I needed a drink when we got home!
 
After tea, the boys went to watch a local football match which was being played very near our holiday house, and later there was a bit more of Mapp and Lucia.
 
It was hard to get a decent picture of the spiral – but I quite like this one, even though it is quite out of  focus.  The extras are a flower and a butterfly and a view over the pond to the abbey.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.