Wet Poppy

I was up bright and early and got the washing machine going as it was lovely.  I went back to bed and when I got up it was grey.  Undaunted I hung out the washing and then headed out for a run.  It was muggy, but felt so much cooler than my recent runs.  It rained a bit, but I got home fairly dry.  However, then the rain started and my washing was wetter than when it went out.  It is still hanging, as I have another load hung up in the house.  All rather frustrating when you think back to last week’s heatwave.
 
The rain went off and I was about to head down town to pick up some lunch, when it started again – this time it was much heavier so I waited.  It didn’t ease off, so I jumped in the car.  I still managed to get home with sodden feet.  My trainers had just dried off after getting soaked in York yesterday.  How annoying.
 
I eventually managed to speak to a person at the hospital about BB, as he needed more dressing materials.  They wouldn’t hand them out without seeing him, but luckily they fitted him in this afternoon.  We made it to the clinic and back without getting wet.  They are pleased with progress, but want to keep seeing him.  The reason I couldn’t get through on the phone earlier, was because their IT system was down.  We left with four appointments and additional dressing materials. 
 
As the rain seemed to have gone off and it had brightened up into a lighter shade of grey – I risked going down into town to the post office, the card shop, a gift shop and the supermarket.  I got everything I needed except a couple of birthday presents – but I did get some inspiration. 
 
I made a fish curry which went down well.  I now need to psyche myself up for work tomorrow.  I’m already dreading the volume of emails that will be waiting.
 
Everything in the garden was rather drookit today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.