SilverImages

By SilverImages

St Edith's Church

Travelling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller.”
Ibn Battuta
The forecast is for a dry day, so I’ve decided to head over to St.Edith’s church at Eaton under Heywood, the church that T told me about at the Stoke Lacy gathering a couple of months ago.
Not knowing the area I put the postcode in and trusted the SatNav, which took me across country from Bishop’s Castle. Although only supposed to take about 40 minutes, it took nearly an hour to find the place, mainly because the SatNav took me to a nearby house down a left turn. I followed the road but no luck, so I resorted to the trusty AA Road Atlas and managed to get back on track and find the church. Very welcoming place with free refreshments on offer and a toilet at the top of the churchyard!
As I was leaving I saw a line of about six chubby little birds scuttling along under the hedgerow into a field. I sort of recognised them but couldn’t immediately place them, so I checked online, sure enough they were Guineafowl.
 On my way out I’d passed a place advertising “Food all day”, seemed like a good destination as often places are closed on a Monday. Appropriately named The Station it looked like some sort of a gastro-pub, with a large extension, a glazed extension dining area – but very friendly and welcoming and a lovely place for a late lunch (food was good too).
Reflected on recent chat with K2, who’d been to a friend’s party at a lakeside place for young people. “It didn’t have a hut by the lake by any chance?” I asked. “Yes, why?” was the reply. As a German speaker she hadn’t twigged that Jung was not just “young” but the great man himself, she’d only been to the Jung Institut at Kusnacht! I turned several shades of Green.
Stopped at Bishop’s Castle on return to get some snack stuff and have a walk around the town, looks quite a quirky place with loads of elephant connections and murals. Short meditation in the impressive church (St.John the Baptist) before heading back and settling down for the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.