suehutton

By suehutton

Charnia

Back to the Beacon Sculpture Trail for the geology and the willow weaving workshop. Missed the geology talk because of the Women's World Cup but that didn't matter too much as I've found a paper online which describes it in some detail.

Being scooter less, I had to crutch it to the first exhibit on the sculpture trail, representations of the Precambrian fossil Charnia which have been found on Charnwood Forest.

Though apparently looking like plants, they were actually multicellular animals that captured their prey by seizing plankton that swam nearby. This is an attempt to colorise an infrared photo but it hasn't worked as well as I would have liked, certainly not as well as the two other photos I've worked on.

At the workshop tent, I made a small willow replica of a Charnia, guided by Nita Rao, the artist who has constructed so many of the installations on the hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.