Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Farewell Ailish and Danny

Like many households in the UK, this morning the television was switched on for the women's football world cup final. I did not watch it. I just find these 'crucial' games unbearable to witness, especially when the team that everyone is supporting loses. Poor Danny looked close to tears at the end of play today.

While the other three sat in front of the television, I cooked. For our main course at lunch time, I made a traditional Sunday lunch of roast leg of lamb with roast potatoes, parsnips, sweet potatoes, and peas. We had a few fresh prawns and baby spinach left over from Friday's curry, so I concocted (technical term) four prawn cocktails as a starter. Then I made cheesecake for the welcome meal for our next set of guests who arrive tomorrow evening. I didn't need to worry about the pudding for lunch today because Mr hazelh got up before the rest of us and had made a delicious lemon meringue pie while we were still sleeping (I in the study).

After lunch we walked up to Waverley station with Ailish and Danny to pop them on the train back to London. We were very sad to see them go. We hope that they will come and visit us again soon.

Back home again, we managed to strip the bed, wash the linen, dry it outside (in perfect conditions on a warm breezy summer evening), and remake the spare bed in readiness for the Foxes' visit tomorrow. I also transformed the left-over vegetables from lunchtime into soup.

My blip shows our happy weekend visitors boarding the train for their journey home.

Exercise today: small amount of walking (8,674 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.