Keith B

By keibr

International Festival - 2023 - Härnösand

I was sure I had a unique picture here, captured as I ate lunch. I was sitting a bit away from the annual International Festival because the table here made eating lunch (technically breakfast) from a sagging paper plate a little easier. Panorama mode in the iPhone, scanned from church tower to the grove of trees made a very balanced image. My blip fixed!
But I check Jan's blip and she's had exactly the same idea - and got there first!
No problem though; I have a back up picture of the Ukrainian choir singing. The 22 singers are all Ukrainian refugees living in Härnösand. One man, one teenage boy, several children and the rest are women. I'm sure there are more who aren't singing in the choir, so if there are 22 plus Ukrainian refugees in little Härnösand then how many must be in all the towns in Sweden, and in the UK, and in the neighbouring countries? It's a very sobering thought. So many people missing home, husbands, sons, and family.
I check Jan's blip again - there's an extra, of the Ukranian choir - she got there first again!
At first I'm a bit irritated, but in reality we are mostly in the same spaces, and after so many years living together, both loving photography, it's no surprise we sometimes see things in the same way - it's almost a compliment.
So I post my picture as originally planned - I'm sure mine is slightly better anyway, but you don't need to comment on that...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.