An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Who goes there?

Backblip - 

Friend or foe?

This is one of Lola's favourite settling positions in the hall.  From here she can keep tabs on callers at the front door, movement from Alan's sitting room and his support worker's sitting room and kitchen,  any movement up and down the stairs and keep an eye on our kitchen and living room doors.  In fact it's probably the central spot of the whole house!  She's not daft! :-)

So, the morning after the night before and I woke up with no voice.  And I mean NO voice.  Trying to be heard above the wedding band (as well as singing along to the music) had clearly taken its toll! I could barely muster a whisper.

Our friend Peter was visiting this weekend and he arrived 10 mins before I made it downstairs.  Thankfully D had been up for ages and was all organised :-) I got waylaid texting my best friend Agnes (bride's mother) to see how sore their heads were this morning but remarkably all was well.  Agnes said we left at the perfect time as just minutes after we said our goodbyes, our names were called for the Karaoke!!!  I was hoarse when we left so there's no way I could have taken part even if I'd wanted to (I didn't!  lol) 

With Peter here we got brunch underway and enjoyed a full Scottish breakfast.  Followed by a cuppa and a catch up before D took Peter to play his first round of golf in almost quarter of a century.  I had hoped to start my outstanding painting commission but when they left I was very comfy sitting with my feet up, and I was still like that three hours later having conked out!  I think the last few days caught up with me.

Fortunately dinner was under control as I had beef stew bubbling away in the slow cooker and when the golfers returned (after facing four seasons in four hours!) the potatoes were peeled and ready to be boiled and turned into David's creamy mash.  
Between the changing weather and the fact it was Peter's first round of golf in many years, I wasn't expecting them to complete the entire 18 holes, but they did.  Well done Peter!  I know this won't be your last round for another 25 years.  D will make sure of that!  :-)

After dinner (which was rather late as they didn't get back from golf till 8pm) we all chilled out in front of the TV.  Lola was particularly happy to see Peter and was keen to share the same patch of sofa with him.  Luckily he's a Lola fan :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.