An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Bridge over calm water...

Backblip


Our pal Peter was awake by 7am and downstairs with D before 9am!  What has happened to you P?!  In the olden days I could rely on you not to appear before 11am, thus allowing myself to look like an early bird!  lol

Since the weather was looking good, we decided after lunch to head to Loch Leven as the entire path around the loch is wheelchair accessible (not that we planned to go all the way round, it's over 13 miles long)  We began our adventure at Kirkgate Park.

When D and I were last there in April parts of the path were closed for maintenance but they are all open now. 

We got there around 2pm and spent a very pleasant few hours following the very accessible path that took us from the water's edge through sun dappled woodland and alongside little rivers.  The weather was kind...warm and sunny, like an August day should be, and the flora and fauna of the place was a feast for the eyes.

Lola loved having two extra companions on her second long walk of the day.  She was trotting ahead with D but kept stopping and coming back to P and me to round us up and make sure we weren't falling too far behind.  Unfortunately we couldn't let her off lead.  Too many people, dogs and other temptations around!  Indeed we met a fair few dogs who she stopped to say hello to including a huge goofy Australian Labradoodle (or as his owner described him, a VERY expensive cross breed! :-) and a bulldog type dog carrying the biggest stick ever...more of a branch than a stick! 

I was desperate for the loo by the time we made it back to the car and dreading using the public loos (I have had public loo phobia since the age of  four when I found myself in the most horrible public loos...and I mean HORRIFICALLY DISGUSTING loos and I've never recovered!) but to my surprise and delight, the loos at Kirkgate were spotless.  And I made it with seconds to spare...no I didn't almost have an accident, the loo attendant was there to lock them up for the night.  They close at 5.00pm!  lol

Into the car and home to enjoy the chicken Korma that was cooking happily away in the slow cooker.  D had popped out this morning to buy pakora and as well as the usual vegetable and chicken pakora, had spied Haggis pakora.  Now I love haggis but haggis pakora?  I was very sceptical.  Well hush my mouth!  It was delicious!  And it reminded me that years ago I used to make a haggis lasagne that was delish.  Must look out the recipe.  Funny how certain food dishes just fall off your radar.

Meringues with strawberries and cream for dessert then some more blethers and some TV viewing before it was time for Peter to head home.

So lovely to see you P, and will definitely get a date in the diary to see you again before you head off down under for two months at the end of the year.  Exciting times :-))

PS Peter, I converted today's blip to mono in your honour ;-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.