Window Into My World

By Teadrinker

The view from the Aiguille du midi

I feel quite emotional each time I look at this shot - it brings back to me what a spectacular view we had at the top of the Aiguille du midi (altitude 3800 metres) and how breathtaking it was. The weather was perfect and it was the first day that constant low cloud had been replaced by blue skies. The day had started off well with many hotel guests waking at 5.30 am to be greeted by the sight of Mont Blanc for the first time since arriving. Not sure what exactly woke so many of us at that time, but those woken were out on their balconies snapping away at snow covered mountains tinged pink by the sunrise.

There were many viewing platforms on the Aiguille du midi - this is the scene looking across to Italy (Mont Blanc was on my right out of shot). It's a shame that the camera hasn't picked up the two cranes on top of one of the mountains in the distance - given the altitudes of them it was an incredible sight.

This day will always stand out in my memory - perfect in so many ways - and a wonderful experience.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.