A Meandering Life...

By Skeena

Mono Monday 500 :: MM500 :: Looking Through

I couldn't miss the 500th Mono Monday, what an achievement and great credit to all those who have kept it going for so long!

This is a view looking back through the kitchen area and into the bathroom. The back door is open and that is the garage door beyond. 

Earlier in the day it was quite sunny and apart from another session at the Toning Suite at the leisure centre I managed to cut back some of the bamboo next to the pond. The cuttings are in 2 huge heaps that still need dealing with.

My attention was distracted by some work I want to carry out on my camper van. It is 23 years old now and some of the fittings are showing their age, especially in the bathroom.

The white plastic fittings are now yellowish and quite a few cracks have formed as it has become brittle. Custom made spare parts are no longer available. 

I'm building up the courage to ripping the whole bathroom out and start from scratch. I want to maximise some of the dead space and improve/update some of the fittings. There are some very strange design flaws in the current set up including very limited access to the rear light clusters. Bulbs cannot be replaced other than digging into cupboards, down screwed down lids and having a hand of a 3 year old child that can bend into an S with eyes on the tips of the fingers!

The gas locker is also a problem. The size of gas canister it fits no longer are being sold by Calor Gas. It also takes up a large area where my feet would like to be when using the facilities back there. I also noticed today the air vent is not where it should be, no doubt different regulations applied back in 2000. 

I will draw up some plans and see what I can come up with. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.