Flossmo

By Flossmo

Jump

Another busy day has come and gone.

This morning was spent on household chores.

This afternoon I was on digital buddy duty at the library. Unfortunately, as soon as I arrived my supervisor came over to say my client, who was actually in the library, had cancelled... and wanted to come over and apologise to me for doing so. He kept me talking for twenty minutes or more about nothing in particular. I still have no idea why he made the appointment in the first place or why he then cancelled it. By the time I was back home near enough an hour had elapsed for no benefit at all to anyone. 'Nowt so queer as folk' as they say up North.

Back home Mr Flossmo had put new castors on the spare bed so I had a cup of tea then sorted out my study, returning all my craft materials to their under-bed home. After that I had a Zoom catch-up call with my volunteering team leader.

I had just settled on the sofa for a short nap when I heard a kerfuffle in the hall: Sky had brought us a small gift so Mr Flossmo went and collected the 'small animal removal' kit. Having sat, inert, for a couple of minutes, as soon as he saw the plastic box Froggy started leaping about like a demented spring lamb. But Mr Flossmo was faster. He dropped the box over and pushed a folder newspaper underneath. He then carried Froggy outside and removed the box. The startled animal sat long enough for me to take a photograph and then in a giant leap for amphibian-kind he dived between the waterlily leaves and was gone.

This evening I actually finally gave up on University Challenge. Amol Rajan's machine gun delivery of the questions and the lightning reactions of the students makes having a go oneself unworkable. Yes, it's interesting to gawp at the youngster's general knowledge but the fun was always in having a go at answering the questions now and again. I'm not interested in a spectator sport so sadly it's the end of an era.

Such is life.        

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.