Paul'sPix

By PaulShelley

Spex in the lake

I'm now in the alps. Thought you might like a peek at my cosy little chalet where I'm staying for the week. All very lux with this tray for drinking tea in bed. Don't think I will be risking it. I'll be happy sitting out on the deck taking in the view.

After unpacking and settling in I drove a few km's to meet daughter Faye and family where they were having a pizza supper by a lake. I was well ready for a refreshing dip and the mountain stream and pond looked very enticing. 

I dived straight in and realised too late that I still had my glasses on. But by the time I surfaced they had disappeared. Disaster. The lake wasn't very deep but the water was cloudy so it was hard to see the stony bottom. I soon had all the kids helping me search the water. Other families joined in when I offered a reward. 

Eventually most of us gave up and returned to the table to eat our delicious pizzas. As the swimmers gradually left the pond I decided to have another try before it got dark. Millie came in too. After another unsuccessful 20 minutes I was giving up when Millie pulled out of the water...my glasses! It was like King Arthur's sword appearing out of the lake.

I was so delighted I doubled the reward and Millie was thrilled. 

Moral - always check you havn't got your specs on before you dive in the pool. I was so preoccupied I didnt get any photos to prove the story.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.